Virtually Yours with Yara Nakahanda Monteiro

May 14: Virtually Yours with Yara Nakahanda Monteiro

Yara Nakahanda Monteiro’s Loose Ties is the featured book for the series “Virtually Yours,” which runs on May 14, 2022. She will be moderated by Zukiswa Wanner. The event hosted by Goethe-Institut Namibia will run from 4 pm GMT, 5 pm WAT, 6 pm CAT, and 7 pm EAT.

Virtually Yours is a regional project of Goethe-Institut Sub Saharan Africa, a series of online discussions with contemporary authors from Africa. “Virtually Yours” aims to create an online platform for avid readers, writers, academics, publishers, agents, and anyone else interested in literature by writers from Africa. The series of online discussions held once a month has featured Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor, Oswalde Lewat, Niq Mhlongo, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi, Tendai Huchu, Natasha Omokhodion-Kalulu Banda, Ondjaki, Ishmael Beah, Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu, Rémy Ngamije, and Nadifa Mohamed.

The featured guest for May is Yara Nakahanda Monteiro featuring here novel Loose Ties an electrifying and colourful story, with shadows of an uncertain and shifting past. Victoria was raised in Portugal by her grandparents and bears the marks of a trauma she can’t get over: she never met her mother who was an Angolan freedom fighter. A few months before her wedding, Victoria flees to Angola in search of her mother and her identity – personal, racial, cultural and even sexual. She lands in Luanda at the dawn of the 21st century – a place of striking social contrasts, where the imported car is displayed alongside the most dreadful scenes of hunger. A place where the boundaries of tragedy and comedy seem blurred, a city where “everything kills”. Loose ties is both a story of love and of war, a contemporary tale that deals with the past, a call for the independence of women as political beings. And of their own bodies in search of freedom.

Register for this Virtual Gathering at the link below and stand the chance of winning a copy by clicking here and stand the chance of winning a copy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.