April 9: Virtually Yours with Ana Paula Tavares

Ana Paula Tavares’ Entries For An Effective Diary is the featured book for the series “Virtually Yours,” which runs on April 9, 2022. She will be moderated by Ondjaki. The event hosted by Goethe-Institut Namibia will run from 4pm GMT, 5pm WAT, 6pm CAT, and 7pm EAT.

Virtually Yours is a regional project of Goethe-Institut Sub Saharan Africa, a series of online discussions with contemporary authors from Africa. “Virtually Yours” aims to create an online platform for avid readers, writers, academics, publishers, agents, and anyone else interested in literature by writers from Africa. The series of online discussions held once a month has featured Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor, Oswalde Lewat, Niq Mhlongo, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi, Tendai Huchu, Natasha Omokhodion-Kalulu Banda, Ondjaki, Ishmael Beah, Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu, Rémy Ngamije, and Nadifa Mohamed.

Ana Paula Tavares is an Angolan author, poet, and historian. Tavares studied history at the University of Luanda and worked as a history teacher from 1973. At the end of the 1970s, she moved to Lisbon and studied Afro-Lusitanian Studies and received a PhD in African history. The themes of her work are Angolan traditions and languages, love and war, and especially the role of women in African society. She is one of the most prominent representatives of the postcolonial generation of Luso-African women poets.